Dipping in Victoria’s waters

Victoria del Agua (Entre Rios, Argentina)

Entrance to thermal water park Victoria del Agua (Entre Rios, Argentina)

Well I’m back in the bustling Buenos Aires after a three-day rendezvous in Rosario. Just a four-hour ride from the capital, Rosario is one of my favorite getaways for relaxation. While I work on a post to sum up the trip, I’ll leave you all with the photo above from a thermal water park in the nearby city Victoria.

The first time I stepped in thermal waters was in Abano Terme, a small town in the province of Padua (Italy) known for its abundance of hot springs. This was during the winter of 2009, so I was overwhelmed with childlike pleasure from soaking in hot, salty water while looking at the snow above ground. Based on the crowd, this was clearly a common sentiment.

With that memory in mind, there was no way I could miss checking out the thermal spa near Rosario.

Victoria del Agua is a large compound with multiple pools of varying temperatures, slippery slides for the munchkins (or wannabe kids), and a couple bars to eat or drink. Its beautiful surrounding scenery adds to the natural harmony of any thermal spa.

Being that it’s winter here, I expected this place to be filled with half the town’s population. To my surprise, these cold months are actually low-season for the thermal spa. Only four of the 10 pools (rough count) were open, and I saw 70 people at most in their skimpy bikinis or swim trunks. By 6p.m. we were kicked out.

I was a little disappointed in not getting to shimmy down the slides and try out all the pools, but this was, nonetheless, the highlight of my trip and I highly recommend it to anyone in town!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

